Latin American Independence Dates

Below you will find a list of all the countries in Latin America with the dates by which they were declared independent. It’s often the case that these Independence Days are national holidays.

Argentina9 July 1816 (from Spain)
Belize21 September 1981 (from UK)
Bolivia6 August 1825 (from Spain)
Brazil7 September 1822 (from Portugal)
Chile18 September 1810 (from Spain)
Colombia20 July 1810 (from Spain)
Costa Rica15 September 1821 (from Spain)
Cuba20 May 1902 (from Spain: 10 December 1898; administered by the US from 1898 to 1902)
Dominican Republic27 February 1844 (from Haiti)
Ecuador24 May 1822 (from Spain)
El Salvador15 September 1821 (from Spain)
French GuianaAn overseas department of France; the only territory in mainland Americas to still be fully integrated into a European country
Guatemala15 September 1821 (from Spain)
Guyana26 May 1966 (from the UK)
Haiti1 January 1804 (from France)
Honduras15 September 1821 (from Spain)
Mexico16 September 1810 (from Spain)
Nicaragua15 September 1821 (from Spain)
Panama3 November 1903 (from Colombia; became independent from Spain: 28 November 1821)
Paraguay14 May 1811 (from Spain)
Peru28 July 1821 (from Spain)
Puerto Riconone (territory of the US with commonwealth status)
Suriname25 November 1975 (from the Netherlands)
Uruguay25 August 1825 (from Brazil)
Venezuela5 July 1811 (from Spain)