Dark Entries Release Compilation of Mexican 80s New Wave and Post-Punk

By 04 October, 2021

The San Francisco-based label Dark Entries, known for releasing darkwave, DIY disco and auteur synth pop, have headed to Mexico for their latest compilation, Back Up: Mexican Tecno Pop 1980​-​1989, a collection of post-punk and new wave that shows how fertile Mexico’s underground scene was in the 80s.

Many of the tracks had in fact previously been released on a CD-only compilation, Expediente del Tecno Pop 1980 – 1989, released in 2005 on the Tijuana label AT-AT Records and compiled by the band Ford Porco. This edition includes two previously-unreleased songs, and marks the first time this music has ever been released on vinyl.

The compilation features tracks by cult Mexican bands such as Cou Cou Bazar, Avant Garde and Vandana, and includes a 12-page booklet featuring photos, liner notes, and lyrics.

Back Up: Mexican Tecno Pop 1980​-​1989 is out now on Dark Entries

Follow Sounds and Colours: Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Mixcloud / Soundcloud / Bandcamp

Subscribe to the Sounds and Colours Newsletter for regular updates, news and competitions bringing the best of Latin American culture direct to your Inbox.