New Mexican Label Piratón Records Release 1st Compilation of Latin American Beats, Lo-Fi Pop and Electronica

By 14 April, 2016

Piratón Records, a new record label based in Mexico City whose first two releases focused on experimental rap and hip-hop beats, recently released their first compilation album, No Hay Más Fruta Que La Nuestra, featuring artists from Argentina, Chile, Mexico and Venezuela.

The compilation takes its title from David Alfaro Siqueiros’ 1945 publication on Modern Mexican Art, No Hay Mas Ruta Que La Nuestra, though they are clearly having fun with it, as this teaser video for the compilation proves:

The album features an array of Latin American talent playing a mixture of electronica, lo-fi pop, beats and glitchy disco. Artists featured include Aylu from Argentina, Cancioneira and Loocila from Venezuela, Chile’s Niñosindigo and a whole host of producers and bands from Mexico, including Dani Shivers, Hidhawk, Nrvs, Oly, Spacedynamite and Romizva.

You can listen to, and download for free, the album via Bandcamp below:

Follow Sounds and Colours: Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Mixcloud / Soundcloud / Bandcamp

Subscribe to the Sounds and Colours Newsletter for regular updates, news and competitions bringing the best of Latin American culture direct to your Inbox.