Pueblo Nuevo: The New Sounds of Santiago

By 22 August, 2011

Santiago’s Pueblo Nuevo is one of our favourite record labels, continually putting out interesting and diverse releases from artists based in Chile, and sometimes from further afield, all of which are made available for free download on their website. As something of a “thank you” for all the great music we’ve heard as a result of Pueblo Nuevo, we decided to put a compilation together of some of our favourite songs from the label. So, here is Pueblo Nuevo: The New Sounds of Santiago.

The compilation begins with a track from El Sueño de la Casa Propia’s album Historial de Caídas, one of the most original electronic albums to be made by anyone in the last couple of years, and one that has been influential enough to warrant an album of remixes, represented here by Sr. Amable’s remix of “Un Paso Al Costado (Yo Soy Dios, Vecinos)”. All tracks on this compilation were released in the last three years and represent the mixture of music being released by Pueblo Nuevo, highlighted by the fact that diverse artists such as Gepe, Sokio, Doma Tornados, Daniel Jeffs, Gustavo Becerra-Schmidt, Aysen and Lluvia Acida all feature at some point on the album.

  1. El Sueño de la Casa Propia – En La Medida De Lo Posible [Historial de Caidas – pn058]
  2. Daniel Jeffs – Cosmo Clap  [El Poder Corrompe – pn050]
  3. Sokio – Estrangeiro (Step II) (Sokio Mix) [Columbia Remixes – pn040]
  4. Amaro – Welcome to Santiago [Synco Soundtrack – pn043]
  5. El Sueño de la Casa Propia – Un Paso al Costado (Yo Soy Dios, Vecinos) (Sr. Amable Remix) [Historial de Caidas Remixes – pn067]
  6. Francisco Pinto – Triangle [Boo Boo – pn037]
  7. Gepe + Lluvia Acida – Cerro de la Cruz 1 [Cruce de Caminos – pn061]
  8. DJ Elastico – Techno ID [Rinocerontes a Pie – pn056]
  9. Gustavo Becerra-Schmidt – Balistocata [Obra Electroacustica – pn036]
  10. Humanoides – El Fondeado [Cruce de Caminos – pn061]
  11. Sokio – Sing Song Alone (Tender & Hard Freddy Musri Mix) [Columbia Remixes – pn040]
  12. Aysen – Nieve [3 Estados – pn059]
  13. Daniel Jeffs – Rede (Doma Tornados Remix) [El Poder Corrompe – pn050]
  14. F600 – Pasado Mañana [At Home Like A Tourist – pn063]
  15. Lluvia Acida y Ursula Calderon – Omora [Kuluana – pncd05]
[audio:http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/01-en-la-medida-de-lo-posible.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/02-cosmo-clap.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/03-estrangeiro-sokio.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/04-welcome-to-santiago.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/05-un-paso-al-costado-remix.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/06-triangle.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/07-cerro-de-la-cruz-1.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/08-techno-id.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/09-balistocata.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/10-el-fondeado.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/11-sing-song-alone.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/12-nieve.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/13-rede-doma-tornados-remix.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/14-pasado-manana.mp3, http://soundsandcolours.com/static/2011/08/15-omora.mp3|titles=En La Medida de Lo Posible, Cosmo Clap, Estrangeiro (Sokio Remix), Welcome to Santiago, Un Paso Al Costado (Sr Amable Remix), Triangle, Cerro de la Cruz 1, Techno ID, Balistocata, El Fondeado, Sing Song Alone (Tender and Hard Musri Mix), Nieve, Rede (Doma Tornados Remix), Pasado Manana, Omora]


To listen to all of the releases on Pueblo Nuevo go to www.pueblonuevo.cl

Follow Sounds and Colours: Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Mixcloud / Soundcloud / Bandcamp

Subscribe to the Sounds and Colours Newsletter for regular updates, news and competitions bringing the best of Latin American culture direct to your Inbox.