Roots of Chicha Mixtape

By 30 September, 2011

It seems like a while since we last featured chicha on the site, which is why we thought we’d bring you this little mix of tracks off The Roots of Chicha releases for this week’s mix.

The Roots of Chicha is the name of two compilations which came out over the last few years documenting chicha (also known as Peruvian cumbia) music from Peru, a style of music that mixed traditional Peruvian music with amplified instruments, Western influences and the spirit of rock ‘n’ roll. This mixtapes features some of chicha’s biggest names, with Los Destellos, Los Mirlos and Juaneco y su Combo among the artists on the mix.

[soundcloud url=”″]

Here’s the full tracklisting for the mix:

1. Los Mirlos – Sonido Amazonico
2. Los Destellos – Marijuana No!
3. Los Wemblers – La Danza del Petrolero
4. Grupo Celeste – Como un Ave
5. Los Orientales de Paramonga – Chinito Bailarin
6. Los Mirlos – Cumbia y Guitarra
7. Los Destellos – Elsa
8. Los Diablos Rojos – Sacalo Sacalo
9. Los Hijos del Sol – Linda Muñequita
10. Juaneco y su Combo – Vacilando con Ayahuasca

You can buy both volume of The Roots of Chicha from Amazon (Vol. 1 and Vol. 2) and iTunes (Vol. 1 and Vol. 2)

Follow Sounds and Colours: Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Mixcloud / Soundcloud / Bandcamp

Subscribe to the Sounds and Colours Newsletter for regular updates, news and competitions bringing the best of Latin American culture direct to your Inbox.