El Guincho releases EP of South American covers

By 19 July, 2010

On 12th July El Guincho officially released an EP of South American covers, entitled Piratas de Sudamerica. The songs, which mainly have salsa roots, come from his childhood listening to his Dad’s record collection. He felt the need to record these songs as he wanted to re-imagine them in a way that his contemporaries would understand, so that they may then be tempted to discover some of the original artists themselves.

The tracklisting is:
1. Hindou (originally by Orefiche y Valdespi)
2. Cuerpo Sin Alma (traditional)
3. Mientes (originally by Miguel Matamoros)
4. Frutas Del Caney (originally by Felix Benjamin Caignet)
5. Marimba (originally by Miguelito Valdés & Norosbaldo Morales)

And listen to the EP right here:
[soundcloud url=”http://soundcloud.com/youngturks/sets/el-guincho”]

More info:
The EP has been released by Young Turks

Follow Sounds and Colours: Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Mixcloud / Soundcloud / Bandcamp

Subscribe to the Sounds and Colours Newsletter for regular updates, news and competitions bringing the best of Latin American culture direct to your Inbox.