Sofrito and Strut Team Up for New Compilation of Rare Music From Africa, The Caribbean and South America

By 26 May, 2012

Following on from their excellent Tropical Discotheque record in 2011, Sofrito and Strut once again are teaming up to bring us a new compilation of raw dancefloor rhythms from Africa, the Caribbean and South America.

International Soundclash will feature both rare and new and exclusive material, with a specially designed cut-out globe on a pull-out poster accompanying the CD and double LP. Artists to feature on the compilation include one of our personal favourites from Colombia, Grupo Canalón, as well as some classic Colombian salsa from La Pesada. There will also be tracks from all other the Caribbean and Africa, with styles varying from soca to merengue and soukous to Guatemalan carnival music.

Sofrito: International Soundclash will be released on Strut on July 23rd. Full tracklisting is below:

1. Lord Shorty & Vibrations International – Vibrations Groove
2. La Pesada – Cumbia y Tambo (En La Lluvia)
3. Midnight Groovers – O Ti Yo
4. Les Difficiles de Pétion-Ville – Fe’m Confiance (Tropical Treats Edit)
5. Owiny Sigoma Band – Nabed Nade Ei Piny Ka F
6. Mas Ka Klé – Lésé yo Palé
7. Kiland et L’Orchestre Mabatalaï – Pour Chercher le Magot
8. Bell’a Njoh – Ebolo
9. Concept Neuf – The Path (Sofrito Edit)
10. Grupo Canalon – La Zorra y El Perol
11. Les Vikings – Ambiance (Guhe Huiamo)
12. Sartana et Son Groupe Mistral – Information Par Le Mistral
13. Luis Kalaff y Sus Alegres Dominicanos – Agarralo Que Eso Es Tuyo
14. Afro Festival led by Fantastic Tchico Tchicaya – El Manicero
15. Melodica Teens Band – Mwekuru Muthao

More info:

Follow Sounds and Colours: Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Mixcloud / Soundcloud / Bandcamp

Subscribe to the Sounds and Colours Newsletter for regular updates, news and competitions bringing the best of Latin American culture direct to your Inbox.