Delve deeper into Bossa Nova with The Story of Elenco Records

By 04 April, 2011

On 28th February Soul Jazz Records released Brazil Bossa Beat! Bossa Nova and the Story of Elenco Records Brazil, a prime collection of bossa nova cuts that have never before been released outside of Brazil. God knows why, because some of these tracks from the likes of Quarteto em Cy, Baden Powell and Edu Lobo are some of the finest bossa nova we’ve ever heard.

Here’s a little bit about what the release entails:

This deluxe CD-pack comes with a massive 75-page book (and superb limited double heavyweight gatefold vinyl edition) containing extensive text on the music of Elenco Records and the story of the label, whose iconic output represented the pinnacle of Bossa Nova music in Brazil during this celebrated era.

Here’s the tracklisting:
1. Edu Lobo — Resolucao
2. Baden Powell — Consolacao
3. Quarteto Em Cy — Canto de Ossanha
4. Sergio Ricardo — A Fabrica
5. Edu Lobo — Zanzibar
6. Vinicius and Odette — Berimbau
7. MPB-4 — Beco Do Mota
8. Roberto Menescal — Cinco Por Oito
9. Nara Leao — Maria Moita
10. Sergio Ricardo — Enquanto a Tristeza Nao Vem
11. Edu Lobo — Upa Neguinho
12. Nara Leao — Nana
13. Baden Powell — Candomble
14. Edu Lobo — Reza
15. Quarteto Em Cy — Amaralina
16. Lennie Dale — Sambar de Mudar
17. Nara Leao — Consolacao
18. MPB-4 — Cravo E Canela
19. Lucio Alves — Negro
20. Baden Powell — Coisa No. 1
21. Roberto Menescal — Adriana
22. Sylvia Telles — Samba De Uma Nota So
23. MPB-4 — Sentinela

You can buy Brazil Bossa Beat! at Amazon

Follow Sounds and Colours: Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Mixcloud / Soundcloud / Bandcamp

Subscribe to the Sounds and Colours Newsletter for regular updates, news and competitions bringing the best of Latin American culture direct to your Inbox.