Mochilla 10 Year Anniversary Mixtape

By 22 December, 2010

Not strictly a South American mix today, although it is a mix that reflects how Brazilian and Colombian music fits into the hip-hop aesthetic. This mix was put together by the record label Mochilla as a way of commemorating their 10th birthday. It’s a mix that includes songs by Arthur Verocai, Quantic, Jackson Conti and DJ Nuts, intertwined with slabs of funk, hip-hop, jazz and breaks. It’s a mix which we feel reflects the love that many Americans have for Brazilian and Colombian music. Mochilla’s Coleman, who put the mix together had this to say about it:

“I wanted this mix to slap everyone in the face and get them to pay attention.”

1. King Ruly & Toy Selectah! – Bumpin Time! (Sistema Local Mexmix Version)
2. DJ Shadow – Roy’s Theme
3. Clutchy Hopkins – Thanks Mochilla
4. King Britt – The Radcliff Remix
5. Nobody – Song For Sophia – You Can Know Her
6. Suite for Ma Dukes – Morning Order
7. Quantic – Cubmia de Mochilla
8. J. Rocc – Dirty Fingered B-Boy Edit
9. Arthur Verocai – Karina
10. Te’Amir – Yekermo Sew Remix
11. Mulatu Astatke – Yekermo Sew
12. Black Spade – Fall In Love Remix
13. Suite for Ma Dukes EP – Fall In Love
14. DJ Nuts – From Sp On My 303
15. Suite for Ma Dukes – Angel
16. Jackson Conti – Sunset at Sujinho
17. Suite for Ma Dukes – Antiquity
18. OhNo – A Remix in 3 Parts
19. Jackson Conti – Papaya
20. Suite for Ma Dukes – Stakes Is High

[audio:|titles=Mochilla 10 Year Anniversary Mix]

Mochilla Records have released the incredible Arthur Verocai Timeless CD and DVD, the Brasilintime DVD as well as Jackson Conti’s Sujinho album.

More info:

Follow Sounds and Colours: Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Mixcloud / Soundcloud / Bandcamp

Subscribe to the Sounds and Colours Newsletter for regular updates, news and competitions bringing the best of Latin American culture direct to your Inbox.